Skip to main content
The '''Bureau of Indian Standards''' ('''BIS''') is the national Standards Body of India working under the aegis of Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution|Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, Government of India. It is established by the Bureau of Indian Standards Act, 1986 which came into effect on 23 December 1986. The Minister in charge of the Ministry or Department having administrative control of the BIS is the ex-officio President of the BIS. The organisation was formerly the '''Indian Standards Institution''' ('''ISI'''), set up under the Resolution of the then Department of Industries and Supplies No. 1 Std.(4)/45, dated 3 September 1946. The ISI was registered under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. As a corporate body, it has 25 members drawn from Central or State Governments, industry, scientific and research institutions, and consumer organisations. Its headquarters are in New Delhi, with...
Agency name'''Bureau of Indian Standards'''
Nativename| nativename_a = '''भारतीय मानक ब्यूरो'''
Nativename r| logo = Bureau of Indian Standards Logo.svg
Logo width| logo_caption =
Seal| seal_width =
Seal caption| picture =
Picture width| picture_caption =
Formed{{Start date and age|1986|12|23|df=y}}
Dissolved| superseding =
Jurisdiction| headquarters = Manak Bhawan
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid